a facet-cut red garnet and a raw red garnet gemstone on a beige background


a facet-cut garnet gemstone

Passion & confidence

Garnet is a gemstone found in many nuances of red, orange, yellow, and green. However, it’s most well-known for its deep, red colour. The name comes from the Latin word for seed, ”granatus” – which references the pomegranate’s seeds.

smiling woman wearing long gold plated earrings with red stones from carré. The earrings' stones are red garnet gemstones


Garnet is January's birthstone, and is also the birthstones for the zodiacs Capricorn & Aquarius. Each month has its own unique gemstone to represent it. Carrying your birthstone is said to bring good luck. You can carry your birthstone as a good luck amulet, or your loved ones’ birthstone as a symbol of love.

Find your birthstone here

a gold plated bracelet with green stones from carré. The green stones are garnet gemstones.


Garnet symbolises passion, devotion, sensuality, and confidence. Garnet is thus a true power gemstone – both when it comes to love and work. The Garnet is also said to be a great companion if you want more professional or business success.

Learn more about gemstone symbolism in our large Gemstone Encyclopedia here.

Woman wearing gold plated jewellery with gems from carré.


The Garnet is said to be a stone of dedication – an instrument to better control and get in touch with your emotions. The Garnet is often given to someone before embarking on a journey – a mental or a physical one, due to its protective properties. The gemstone is allegedly said to help heal a person going through heartbreak and can help and guide its wearer through depression and melancholia.

Small gold plated hoops in a creole style with red stones. The red stones are red garnet gemstones


The Garnet is a medium-hard gemstone, with a hardness
somewhere between 6,5-7,5 on Mohs’ Hardness Scale. This means that it’s a durable gemstone for jewellery. You can clean your garnet jewellery with lukewarm soapy water, and lightly brush the stone with a soft brush. Or you can get your jewellery professionally cleaned in an ultrasonic cleanser.

Gold plated jewellery from carré with green garnet gemstones.


Many gemstones are connected to a special anniversary. Garnet pieces of jewellery are traditionally given as a gift on the 2nd wedding anniversary.

Find jewellery gifts for your anniversary here

Long gold plated earrings from carré with red gemstones. The red gemstones are red garnets


Garnet has been used as decorations for thousands of years and can be traced back to ancient Egypt. Garnet was also used regularly worn by royals in Medieval times, where it was said to possess magical powers. Red Garnet was then referred to as ‘carbuncle’, which means ‘little spark’.

In some ancient cultures, the red Garnet was connected to blood. That’s why some people put garnets in their weapons since it was thought that this would do even more damage to the enemy. The Garnet was thought to have healing powers that could cure an array of diseases. In Medieval times, it was told that dragon’s eyes were made of Garnets.

woman wearing long red earrings with gold plating from carré. The red stones are red garnet.


Garnet is especially known for its red colour, but can also be found in green, yellow, and orange. Its colour is determined by the temperatures and elements that affect the gemstone when it’s created underground. Garnet is obtained in India, Sri Lanka, Brazil, Russia, the USA, South Africa and Tanzania. When you measure a gemstone’s hardness, Moh’s Hardness Scale is used. The scale varies from 1-10, where 10 is the hardest – here is the diamond, which is the hardest gemstone. Garnet is between 6.5 and 7.5 on Moh’s Hardness Scale.

a facet-cut amethyst and a raw amethyst gemstone on a beige background


Spirituality & courage

a facet-cut aquamarine and a raw aquamarine gemstone on an invisble background


Intellect, focus & clarity

a brilliant-cut diamond and a raw diamond gemstone on an invisible background


Invincibility, strength & love

a facet-cut green agate and a raw green agate gemstone on an invisble background


Harmony, health & protection